Book Shelf: The White Tiger

A few weeks ago (it very well may have been less that 10 days ago) on Twitter, I saw a hashtag that got me so pumped. It was #travelbookclub, and let me tell you, I jumped all over that one. I may not be traveling right now, but why can’t I READ about traveling? Yes please, sign this book worm up.

So I immediately added all of their past and present books onto my Goodreads “To-Read” shelf. And I’ve already finished the one for this month.

The White Tiger

Synopsis from Goodreads.com: “Set in a raw and unromanticized India, The White Tiger—the first-person confession of a murderer—is as compelling for its subject matter as it is for the voice of its narrator: amoral, cynical, unrepentant, yet deeply endearing.”

I got through this one fairly quickly! It wasn’t a full-throttle page turner, but it held my interest for sure! It was one of those books where I enjoyed it while reading it, but then when it came time to finish it up, I just wasn’t satisfied.

A few quick thoughts:

  • Balram (/Munna/The White Tiger) is the narrator of the book, writing to a Chinese official to tell him of India. I appreciated the picture painted of India. I could really feel it. Now, I haven’t been to India so if this is accurate at all, I would not be the best to say. But as a setting, it was very effective!
  • The relationships were so very interesting. Granted, we only get to see one side of them, but still. Balram’s relationship with the “masters” in his life are probably the most interesting to me.
  • When I got to the murdering part, I felt like the book just ran away on me and I couldn’t get it back. Perhaps that’s how it is supposed to feel?
  • Something about his family relationships didn’t make as much sense to me. But it’s very likely that that was only because it is so different from what I’m used to.
  • There was definitely a plot and it wasn’t impossible to follow, even with it being in a letter-writing form.

I give it 3/5 STARS

As a piece that really has something to say about India, I would give this book closer to five stars. Something about the writing style, I think, just left me feeling unsettled at the end of the book!

I look forward to seeing what other readers have to say, but I don’t think the actual discussion takes place until later this month. I can try to mention it on here when I figure it out so that anybody who happens to read this can see that as well!

Have you ever read The White Tiger?

What’s on your shelf right now?

One thought on “Book Shelf: The White Tiger

  1. Pingback: Book Shelf: The Lost Girls | Adventure Year

Leave a Reply

