Marathons on My Mind

Holy moly, it’s a hot one out there. Hot with an extra shot of humidity. It’s the perfect weather for my new adventure – NOT. But that’s what an adventure is, am I right? But I’m getting ahead of myself.

Red Socks for Boston

Red socks during the Broad Street Run this year!

I’m a runner and I love it. Most of the time. So what did I do this year? I decided that I was going to try to shoot for that elusive marathon finish. Specifically in my stomping grounds of Philadelphia. Theoretically I’d love to break 4 hours on my first, but my pesky knee problems will determine that. But Tuesday officially marked my first “marathon training” run. In this heat wave, wouldn’t you know.

In honor of this exciting new adventure (and the nerves that come along with it), I decided to pretend I’m a brilliant marathoner and choose the top three races I think would be awesome to do!

Destination Races

3. Marathon de Paris

I will admit, I fell a little bit in love with Paris when I visited. Despite the rainy and chilly weather that greeted us, I wanted more. I still want more. And racing in Paris would be AWESOME to me!

Just take a look at the race map from their website.

Marathon De Paris Map

Could you ask to cover more of Paris? I don’t think so.

2. Great Wall of China Marathon

Talk about a freaking adventure, am I right? This is a tough one at that. There’s a marathon, half marathon, and 7.5k option for this puppy, so everybody can get crazy on the Great Wall.

Info from the website: “Run the most challenging marathon of your life along one of mankind’s greatest monuments. Since the inaugural Great Wall Marathon in 1999, the field has grown steadily to over 2,000 runners in the 2012 edition with participants from over 50 nations.”

1. The Big Five Marathon

Okay, so for this baby you’ve got a marathon, half, and 10k option. I know I want to do this one more than a little bit. A LOT more than a little bit. Hello, South Africa, I will be there as fast as I can.

From the website: “In these magnificent surroundings, one can combine exciting game drives with a challenging marathon route going right through the habitat of the most famous African game: Elephant, Rhino, Buffalo, Lion and Leopard. No fences, no rivers, nothing at all separates the runners from the African wildlife.”

Giraffe Philadelphia Zoo

What if I ran near one of these? I would faint. I would be too excited to finish the race.

I’m swooning. Really, though.

Do you know of any good destination races? Where do you think one should be?

3 thoughts on “Marathons on My Mind

  1. Pingback: GREAT WALL MARATHON | TriReview

Leave a Reply

